Saturday, 28 April 2012


FOLLOWING the conclusion of the regular season, the top four teams in each division were set to do battle in the Champion of Champions end of season play-offs for the Jaeger Trophy.
A Division champions PJ'z No 1 of Ripley had to move to a new home at Alfreton Palmer Morewood Club following the (maybe temporary) closure of their usual base, but as Bolehill Institute No 2 couldn't make the preferred Tuesday date, and due mainly to the sterling efforts of octogenarian John Smith, it was switched  to Monday night at Clay Cross's NEDSC only for their opponents to cancel again.

With no other suitable dates available for the next round until after the conclusion of the scheduled season, and with the match committee feeling that not enough effort had been made to play the game in the first instance and it would have inconvenienced too many other teams to re-schedule everything, it was eventually regrettably decided that a bye would have to ensue for the Ripley outfit on this occasion.

One match that did take place was the other A Division play-off at Bolehill Institute No 1, with the hosts gaining a 4-1 triumph over Matlock's Edgefold Club.

Ricki Slack had breaks of 30 and 24 in his opening frame success, and although Matthew Travis levelled, Andrew Brough and then Ian Birks, the latter with a 25 clearance, made the game safe.

The two B Division play-offs were exciting encounters, both ending in 3-2 wins for the higher seeded teams.

Matlock Golf Club edged out Jaxx Q Club No 2 of Belper with Ian McKay and Nick Kay getting them off to the best possible start at 2-0.

But the returning Alan Kerry pulled one back, and the ever reliable Andy Hayes levelled before eventually a 39 break from Graham Jones proved the difference in a hard fought deciding doubles match.

In the other match Jaxx Q Club No 1 kept Belper interest alive by defeating Bolehill Institute No 3 by the minimum margin on the final black, the third time they had triumphed over the same opposition within the space of eight days.

Ian Peacock put Bolehill ahead early doors before Alex Fisher and Steve Robinson (30 break) saw the home side 2-1 up.

Mick Bunting then tied it at 2-2 before in an extremely tense finish, Steve and Glenn Hull took the deciding doubles frame by 49 points to 40.

And In the Open Individual Handicap event, Graham Jones and Ricki Slack will contest the final after each gained 3-0 wins in the semis.

Jaeger Trophy Champion of Champions Play-offs: PJ'z Club Ripley No 1 Bye; Bolehill Institute No 1 4, Edgefold Club Matlock 1; Matlock Golf Club 3, Jaxx Q Club Belper No 2 2; Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1 3, Bolehill Institute No 3 2.

No comments:

Post a comment