Saturday, 14 May 2016


ALFRETON PALMER MOREWOOD Captains Cup winners 2015/16
L-R: Kevin Rowland, Will Salt, Andrew Beardsley, Jamie Rowland, Ralph Edgson and
Simon Mayes.
TWO finals this week saw Alfreton Palmer Morewood lift the Captains Cup Team Aggregate competition whilst Andy Russell and Duncan Harwood received the Denis Morton Pairs Handicap Trophy.
Simon Mayes put the Amber Valley outfit in pole position for the team event at Belper Strutt Club as he struck breaks of 34 and 23 en route to a 104-42 success in the opener, leaving Bolehill No 2 with their work cut out.
Keith Robertson engineered a 60-59 win over winning most player runner-up Kevin Rowland in the next though that made little impression on the scoreboard.
Once Andrew Beardsley notched a 56-39 verdict in frame three to increase the advantage, the writing was on the wall and despite a valiant stand from Martin Forster, whose 60-42 win looked like being more conclusive at one stage, so it proved.
The concluding  doubles leg was nip and tuck but irrelevant to the whole context of the result so Robertson and Ian Peacock waved the white flag with a 5pts deficit to leave Alfreton 293-228 victors.

DENIS MORTON CUP Pairs finalists 2015/16
L-R: Steve Bullock, Andy Russell, Duncan Harwood and Mark Newby.
Andy Russell was in exhilarating form in the doubles final played at Palmer Morewood Club, notching breaks of 51,47 and 23 (twice) as he and partner Duncan Harwood dominated proceedings to score a 4-0 triumph.
This left unlucky pair Mark Newby and Steve Bullock runners-up for the third successive season, the closest frame being the third which went down to the pink.
Edgefold No 1 are also winners of the Jimmy Harper Plate competition as Matlock Golf Club have had to concede the final due to lack of available players.
Captains Cup Team Aggregate final: Alfreton Palmer Morewood 293, Bolehill Institute No 2 228.
Denis Morton Pairs Handicap final: Andy Russell / Duncan Harwood 4, Steve Bullock / Mark Newby 0.
Jimmy Harper Plate Team Aggregate final: Edgefold Matlock No 1 w/o, Matlock Golf Club scr.
Breaks: A Russell 51,47,23,23; S Mayes 24,23.

Sunday, 8 May 2016


BELPER STRUTT CLUB 2015/16 League Champions receive the Hartshorne Cup
L-R: Wayne Shooter, Mark Newby, Paul Jarrett, Ben Monk and Steve Bullock.
Also played: Justin Weller.
BELPER STRUTT CLUB confirmed their Harriotts Sweet Chariot League Championship winning status with a 3-2 win in their final league game at home to Edgefold No 2.
Winning most player Rob Dicken threatened to scupper the celebrations in the opener with a 53-19 success but Ben Monk (32 break) scored a century points haul in the next to equalise and Paul Jarrett ensured the home team secured the all important second point they needed with a 59-19 verdict in frame three.
Wayne Shooter made it 3-1 on the black before Dicken and partner Josh Lee reduced the arrears to the minimum margin amidst jubilant scenes from the home faithful.

ROB DICKEN (Edgefold No 2) 17 wins from 19 matches earned him winning-most player
Nearest rivals Alfreton Palmer Morewood and Bolehill No 1 had clashed the previous night on Hall Road and the 3-2 result in favour of the visitors played into the hands of the champions elect.
Simon Zoppi had Bolehill in front early doors before Jamie Rowland (32 break sharing the Viva Restaurant weekly break accolade with Monk) equalised but Ian Birks' black ball win after needing a snooker against Ralph Edgson left the runners up spot to be decided on the final doubles frame.
This went right down to the final black when an attempted safety shot from Rowland flew straight into the middle pocket and Alfreton gained some compensation for missing out on top spot.

Edgefold No 1 finished an honourable fourth with a 4-1 win at Bolehill No 2. Andy Russell had breaks of 30, 27 and 25 (twice) in his singles and doubles frames to earn the Mick Hodgkinson Transport player of the week award after Martin Forster had made a successful start for the hosts.

GRAHAM JONES and ANDY RUSSELL shake hands before doing OMYA Cup battle
Russell was also in winning form in the OMYA Cup (Individual Scratch) final at Belper Strutt Club as he defeated Graham Jones of Matlock Golf Club 4-0.
A break of 27 was enough to take the first, then after Jones had his chances to equalise on the brown, a blue, pink and black clearance was enough to increase the advantage with a 50-48 verdict.
From thereon, Russell ran out a convincing victor by taking the remaining frames 56-21 and 69-25 with a 25 break to gain a winning start to a run of four finals he will be involved in over the next month.

League week 21 results: Belper Strutt Club 3, Edgefold Matlock No 2 2; Alfreton Palmer Morewood 2, Bolehill Institute No 1 3; Bolehill Institute No 2 1, Edgefold Matlock No 1 4.
OMYA Cup (Individual Scratch) final: Andy Russell 4, Graham Jones 0 (at Belper Strutt Club).
Breaks: B Monk 32; J Rowland 32; A Russell 30,29,27,25,25,25.

Harriotts Sweet Chariot Event Planning Snooker League
                                         P      W      L      Pts

Belper Strutt Club           21      14       7      62
Alfreton P Morewood       21     13       8      60
Bolehill Institute No 1      21      14       7      59
Edgefold Matlock No 1    21      12       9      57
Bolehill Institute No 2      21       10     11     49
Edgefold Matlock No 2    21       7      14      49
Matlock Golf Club            21       8      13      46
Matlock Club                   21        6      15     38
Leading breaks: B Monk 55; R Ferguson 49.
Leading wins: R Dicken 17/19; K Rowland 14/19; I Birks 14/20.