Friday, 20 April 2012


BOLEHILL INSTITUTE No 1: L-R (Back row): Alan Hopkinson (club chairman), Simon Zoppi,
Ian Birks, Colin Marchington and Andrew Brough. Front row: Ricki Slack.
MATLOCK GOLF CLUB: L-R: Ian McKay, Nick Kay, Chris Parker and Graham Jones.
THIS season's Captains Cup team event trophy is making its way back to Bolehill Institute for the first time in 15 years as their No 1 team covered themselves in glory in an enthralling final against a very gallant Matlock Golf Club.
With the Edgefold Club playing host, Ricki Slack edged out Ian McKay in the opening frame, Ian unluckily knocking in the black with the pink before Ricki took the remaining two balls for a 23pts lead.
Colin Marchington then produced some fine safety play for a well crafted win over Chris Parker in frame two, doubling the overall advantage to 46pts.
The Golf Club's Nick Kay started off in good style against Simon Zoppi looking to erode the deficit but a superb 35 break from Simon turned things on its head and despite Nick coming back well afterwards, the Bolehill cueist held on to increase the total lead to 50pts.
Dual ex-Derbyshire champ Graham Jones soon set out his business in frame four though and sailed into a sizeable lead but Ian Birks' pot on the black at the end was a vital arrow for the Bolehill team, meaning they held an 18pts advantage going into the final doubles.
And Ricki and partner Andrew Brough held firm with a cagey display of potting and containment to make sure of a historic win with the final scores being 300 to 249 in an excellent match played in a great spirit.

In the Jimmy Harper Plate competition, Bolehill Institute No 2 defeated Belper Strutt Club No 1 280-197 at Jaxx Q Club with Keith Robertson on barnstorming form with breaks of 39 and 24 in the same frame.
Dwayne Martin and Paul Jarrett each enjoyed sizeable wins for their respective teams too.

Jaxx Q Club No 1 of Belper also progressed, scoring a mammoth total of 395 points to Bolehill Institute No 3's 210 at Belper Strutt Club.
Wade Morley scored 103 of those in his frame whilst Steve Robinson and Alex Fisher both made it into the eighties. Mick Bunting won the sole frame in reply.

This pair of teams had met only the day before in the concluding league match of the season with Bolehill playing host but again on the receiving end, this time losing by a 5-0 scoreline.
Wade Morley was again in top form with his 44 break taking the prize for highest in the section, pipping Chris Parker's 43 in the process. Steve Robinson's win also ensures he shares the prize for most wins in the section with Graham Jones.

And the No 2 team from Jaxx Q Club continued their end of season revival with a 3-2 win at Matlock Club, Andy Hayes top scoring with 87 points though Ian Rose's 31 break in the concluding doubles match ensured it was only by the minimum margin.

In the Denis Morton Trophy pairs handicap semi finals, there were 3-0 wins for both Ben Monk and Andrew Gratton of PJ'z Ripley No 1 and Chris Parker and Nick Kay of Matlock Golf Club who now meet in the final.
Top breaks of their respective matches were Andrew Gratton's 46 and Chris Parker's 42.

Earlier in the week at Bolehill Institute, Jaxx's Steve Robinson secured the B Division Individual title with a 3-2 win over Golf Club's Graham Jones after a fine fightback from 2-1 down.

Captains Cup final: Bolehill Inst No 1 300, Matlock Golf Club 249.
Jimmy Harper Plate semi finals: Bolehill Inst No 2 280, Belper Strutt Club No 1 197; Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1 395, Bolehill Inst No 3 210.
League: Matlock Club 2, Jaxx Q Club Belper No 2 3; Bolehill Inst No 3 0, Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1 5.

Final standings - regular season
A Division                         P      W      L      Pts
PJ'z Club Ripley No 1       16     13      3      56
Bolehill Institute No 1         16     12      4      55
Edgefold Club Matlock       16     11     5      46
Bolehill Institute No 2         16      7       9      41
Belper Strutt Club No 1     16      8       8      37
Matlock Club                      16      3     13      26
Leading breaks: B Monk 100; M Taylor and B Monk 71.
Leading wins: A Gratton 14; K Robertson 13.

B Division                         P      W       L     Pts
Matlock Golf Club              16     13       3      54
Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1   16     11       5      52
Bolehill Institute No 3         16       7       9      32
Jaxx Q Club Belper No 2   16       6     10      32
Belper Strutt Club No 2      16       2     14      25
PJ'z Club Ripley No 2        16       3     13      24
Leading breaks: W Morley 44; C Parker 43.
Leading wins:  G Jones and S Robinson 12.

No comments:

Post a comment