Friday, 4 May 2012


DENIS MORTON Pairs Handicap Trophy finalists: L-R winners Andrew Gratton and Ben Monk of PJ'z Club Ripley No 1 with runners-up Chris Parker and Nick Kay of Matlock Golf Club,
pictured at Matlock Conservative Club, final venue.
THE Jaeger Trophy play off final contestants are now known with A Division champions PJ'z Ripley No 1 up against B Division runners-up Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1 after both came through their final qualifying matches this week.
PJ'z enjoyed an emphatic 5-0 win over Bolehill Institute No 1 in a match played at their temporary home of Alfreton Palmer Morewood Club.

Andrew Gratton had  a break of 35 to set them off on the right track before Ben Monk overcame a slow start with efforts of 29 and 25 to make it 2-0.
And Lee Whatton followed suit soon afterwards, knocking in scores of 29 and 23 to settle the issue before the remaining frames were played out.

At Matlock Golf Club, the hosts couldn't confirm their regular season superiority over Jaxx as Steve Robinson took the opening frame for the visitors before Graham Jones levelled.
After that Wade Morley and Kevin Holmes' victories ensured a 3-1 success for the Belper side.

In the Denis Morton Pairs Handicap Trophy competition final, Ben Monk and Andrew Gratton came from 2-1 behind to win 4-2 against Matlock Golf Club's Chris Parker and Nick Kay.
Ben notched breaks of 47, 26 and 24 whilst Andrew contributed runs of 42 and 23.

And the other two-man event, the Hartshorne Cup, went to Ricki Slack and Colin Marchington of Bolehill No 1 by a 3-2 margin over Jaxx No 1's Steve Robinson and Paul Ogden.
In a thrilling finish, Colin's pot on the blue in the scotch doubles ultimately decided the issue after the earlier singles frames were shared at 2-2.

Results: Jaeger Trophy Champion of Champions play-offs: PJ'z Club Ripley No 1 5, Bolehill Institute No 1 0 (at Alfreton Palmer Morewood); Matlock Golf Club 1, Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1 3.

No comments:

Post a comment