Saturday, 18 May 2019


STEVE BULLOCK and MARK NEWBY Doubles champs 2018/19
IT WAS a case of fourth time lucky for Belper Strutt pairing Steve Bullock and Mark Newby as after three consecutive runners-up prizes in the Denis Morton Trophy, they came up trumps courtesy of a straight frames victory over Bolehill's Ricki Slack and Keith Robertson at Crich Comrades Club.
With Newby showing up well in the opener, the Belper pair were soon one up with a 61-26 verdict though the next frame proved much tighter.
An early run of 23 from Slack was countered by eighteen from Newby and it proved nip and tuck until Robertson got in on the colours, his own contribution of eighteen ending to leave the Bolehill pair seven up with just black on the table.
But it was Newby who clipped in with the rest to force a respot and then took the extra ball into the middle pocket for 2-0.
That inspired partner Bullock into overdrive too and a well crafted 35 break ensured 3-0 before a 69-33 scoreline completed a great evening's work.

In the remaining Jaeger Trophy play off semi final, Matlock Golf Club also qualified in straight frames as Ian McKay, Tony Blant and Charlie Hodgkinson did the damage before Crich Comrades took the remaining but ultimately academic couple of frames.
So the Golf Club and Strutt Club lock horns in the grand final at Bolehill next week to bring to an end to another season of snooker.

Denis Morton Pairs Handicap Trophy final: Steve Bullock / Mark Newby (Belper Strutt) 4, Ricki Slack / Keith Robertson (Bolehill Inst) 0. (61-26; 66-59(23) (re-spotted black); 79-29; 69-33).
Jaeger Trophy play off semi final (1st v 4th): Matlock Golf Club 3, Crich Comrades 2.

Sunday, 12 May 2019


SEAN DOBNEY (winner) with IAN McKAY (runner up), scratch final
THE three singles finals took place recently with Sean Dobney contesting the Scratch and Handicap events, the latter for the second year running, whilst Steve Bullock was in the Intermediate final for the fourth time in six seasons.
Edgefold's Dobney was up against Matlock Golf Club's Ian McKay at Crich for the OMYA Cup off levels and was soon into his stride, clearing up from green in the opener and then converting a long black for 2-0.
Despite some valiant efforts at snookers from his opponent in the third, the Dobney dominance continued with a 71-37 scoreline and he finished it off in straight frames once potting the green in frame four.
MICK BUNTING, open handicap winner
In action again the following night at Tansley against Bolehill's Mick Bunting in defence of his Open Handicap title, Dobney started well as he took a black ball decider to draw first blood.
However, Bunting came back strongly to equalise and then aided by a 20 break in the third and some excellent pots on the colours in the fourth, forged a 3-1 advantage.
The title holder produced some fine play in the next and looked set to close the gap but an incredible fluke on pink which presented Bunting with impeccable position on the final black saw him convert for a 4-1 success.
STEVE BULLOCK (runner up) with NICK BERRY (winner), "B" handicap
Earlier in the week Crich Comrades' Nick Berry defeated Steve Bullock 3-1 at Bolehill to with the "B" (Intermediate) Individual Cup, in which a black ball win in frame two proved pivotal for 2-0. Bullock pulled one back but Berry upped a gear in frame four to take the trophy.

In the first of the Jaeger Trophy play off semi finals, Belper Strutt Club edged out Bolehill No 1 3-2 with Mark Newby and Wayne Shooter winning each of their singles and doubles frames to seal the deal after Colin Marchington had given the hosts the lead.

Jaeger Trophy play off semi final: Bolehill Institute No 1 2, Belper Strutt Club 3.
OMYA Cup (Individual Scratch) final: Sean Dobney (Edgefold Matlock) 4, Ian McKay (Matlock Golf Club) 0 at Crich Comrades. (69-26, 57-43(24), 71-37, 51-34).
Open Individual Handicap final: Mick Bunting (Bolehill Institute No 2) 4, Sean Dobney (Edgefold Matlock) 1 at Tansley Potters. (67-71, 65-21, 72-40, 68-42, 74-63(25).)
"B" (Intermediate) Individual Handicap final: Nick Berry (Crich Comrades) 3, Steve Bullock (Belper Strutt Club) 1 at Bolehill Institute. (50-26, 57-44, 28-63, 59-16).