Saturday, 30 December 2017


RICKI SLACK (Bolehill No 1) was six red singles winner
FIFTEEN players turned out to make sure of another cracking nights entertainment in the 2017 Christmas Shootout at Jaxx Q Club where the action proved so sizzling that even the fire alarm sounded half way through the evening!
The Alan Hopkinson Memorial Trophy for the individual six red handicap competition went to his old Bolehill Institute team mate Ricki Slack, who defied a less than stellar previous record in the Christmas competitions to see off Steve Bullock, Keith Robertson, Derek Smith and finally hat-trick seeking Sean Dobney (winner in his last two years of competing but absent last year) in the final.
Dobney had a chance to pull it out of the fire after facing an early deficit but snookered himself with a clearance looking possible and Slack pulled out match winning long pots on green, brown and blue to be crowned champ.

ANDREW HAGGARTY (Alfreton PM) retained the speed snooker trophy
Alfreton Palmer Morewood's Andrew Haggarty showed he is as fleet of foot as ever as he lifted the Eddie Lomas Speed Snooker Challenge Handicap Trophy for the second successive season, a competition in which the goal is to be faster than your opponent in clearing the colours on adjacent tables.
Haggarty received a fitting bye in round one as the current holder, he thenwent on to defeat Charlie Hodgkinson, John Smith and ultimately Steve Bullock in a thrilling final.
Bullock, the oldest player in the event, in his own words showed that "the tortoise can beat the hare" on more than one occasion, and after drawing level with Haggarty at one stage with both players playing the pink with just black to go, it was anyone's game.
But the latter's pedigree came to the fore as he kept a cool head to see off the challenge and take the silverware back to Alfreton.

SAM LAVELLE (Edgefold No 2) and GUY TAYLOR (Alfreton PM) scotch doubles champs
That left just the George Mills Trophy for the scotch doubles handicap to be decided, and it went to the pairing of Sam Lavelle (Edgefold) and Guy Taylor (Alfreton) who between them pulled out fine pots on brown, blue and pink in the final to edge out Ian McKay and Des Smith. In the earlier rounds, they defeated Mark Newby and Nick Kay along with Charlie Hodgkinson and Steve Bullock.
Alan Hopkinson Memorial Trophy (6 reds individual handicap); winner, Ricki Slack (Bolehill Institute No 1); runner-up, Sean Dobney (Edgefold Matlock No 2).
Eddie Lomas Speed Snooker Challenge Handicap Trophy (fastest to clear the colours h2h): winner, Andrew Haggarty (Alfreton Palmer Morewood); runner-up, Steve Bullock (Belper Strutt Club).
George Mills Trophy (6 reds scotch doubles handicap): winners, Sam Lavelle (Edgefold Matlock No 2) and Guy Taylor (Alfreton Palmer Morewood); runners-up, Des Smith (Alfreton Palmer Morewood) and Ian McKay (Matlock Golf Club).

Sunday, 24 December 2017


SAM LAVELLE... winner in singles and doubles for EDGEFOLD No 2
ONLY one point separated all teams going into the final round of matches in Group A of the Bob McCartin Six Red Cup and after Belper Strutt Club's 5-2 defeat of Crich Comrades ensured their qualification, it was left to Alfreton Palmer Morewood and Edgefold No 2 to battle out the remaining semi final place.
Ryan Taylor struck first for the Amber Valley cuemen with a 42-22 success in the opener before in form Sean Dobney levelled matters with a 38-9 verdict in the next.
Guy Taylor (20 break) scored a 33-8 triumph in frame three but once again it was locked together as Sam Lavelle won 36-10 in the last of the singles legs.
Dobney and Rob Dicken (20 break) had the visitors ahead for the first time in the first of the scotch doubles legs but Andrew Haggarty and Des Smith quickly equalised to leave everything resting on the final frame.
And in a tense battle, Dobney and Lavelle edged home 29-21 after an enthralling battle.
Strutt had their feet up by then, their victory the day before earning them top place in the group.
Wayne Shooter, Mark Newby and Paul Jarrett had them 3-0 ahead before Cliff Gould pulled one back but Steve Bullock and Justin Weller secured the win in the first of the scotch doubles frames.
Bob McCartin Six Red Cup Group A: Alfreton Palmer Morewood 3, Edgefold Matlock No 2 4; Belper Strutt Club 5, Crich Comrades Club 2.
Open Individual Handicap: Andrew Haggarty 3, Guy Taylor 1; Ian McKay 2, Kevin Munnelly 3; Justin Weller 3, Ricki Slack 2.
Breaks: R Slack 29,22,20; J Weller 27,22; R Dicken 20; G Taylor 20.

Bob McCartin Six Red Cup Group Stages

Group A                                    P       W       L       Pts
Belper Strutt Club                     4         3        1      17
Edgefold Matlock No 2             4         3         1     15
Alfreton Palmer Morewood       4         2        2      14
Crich Comrades                       4         1         3     13
Edgefold Matlock No 1             4         1         3     11

Group B                                   P       W       L       Pts
Matlock Golf Club                    3         3       0       13
Bolehill Institute No 1               3        1        2       11
Matlock Club                            3        1        2       10
Bolehill Institute No 2               3        1        2         8