Sunday, 22 March 2020


ADE SMITH Intermediate finalist with LES MOONEY, winning-most league player so far
WITH the league going into an inevitable suspension phase for the foreseeable period in line with government restrictions, Matlock Golf Club signed off by taking maximum points from the only fixture to go ahead, as they visited Matlock Club in the T & M Motors Snooker League.
This leaves them with a healthy seven point advantage with four league fixtures left, if and when the time arrives when the league can be completed.
Ian McKay took the opener on the black, before another tight game saw Les Mooney score his eleventh win from twelve outings, with a 68-59 verdict.
Graham Jones added the third 75-59 before Tony Blant made it four and then teamed up with McKay to narrowly edge yet another nip-and-tuck frame in a much tougher match than the scoreline suggests.

In the Denis Morton Cup doubles semi finals, Ben Monk and Simon Mays defeated Ricki Slack and Keith Robertson 3-0 with Ben scoring breaks of 49,40, 26 and 21 along with a superb long pink to screw back perfectly for the deciding black in the third.
Des Smith and Tom Broughton made it an all-Alfreton final after their 3-2 win over Dale Shaw and Martyn Caylow, Broughton notching runs of 29 and 20.

And Crich's Ade Smith, winner two seasons back, again reached the final of the Intermediate Handicap event, defeating Edgefold's Josh Lee 3-2 on the final black.
League: Matlock Club 0, Matlock Golf Club 5.
Denis Morton Pairs Handicap semi finals: Ben Monk / Simon Mays 3, Ricki Slack / Keith Robertson 0; Dale Shaw / Martyn Caylow 2, Des Smith / Tom Broughton 3.
"B" (Intermediate) Individual Handicap semi final: Josh Lee 2, Ade Smith 3.
Breaks: B Monk 49,40,26,21; T Broughton 29,20; K Robertson 25,24; D Smith 22.

T & M Motors Snooker League        P        W        L     Pts 
Matlock Golf Club                               14      11        3      49
Belper Strutt Club                               14      10        4      42
Alfreton Palmer Morewood                 13        8        5      40
Bolehill Institute No 1                          14        8        6      37
Crich Comrades No 2                         14        7        7      33
Matlock Club                                       15        6        9      33
Edgefold Matlock                                12        7        5      32
Bolehill Institute No 2                          14        5        9      28
Crich Comrades No 1                         14        4      10      27
Whitworth Institute                              14        3       11     24
Leading breaks: B Monk 56; S Dobney 44.
Leading wins: L Mooney 11/12; T Blant & I McKay 10/13; A Lowe 10/14.

No comments:

Post a comment